Outstanding Care Awards

Have you or a loved one received outstanding care from a doctor, nurse, social worker, or other healthcare provider? The Sarcoma Alliance would like to honor them with its Outstanding Care Award.

Please submit nominating letters to [email protected] or Sarcoma Alliance, 775 E. Blithedale Ave. #334, Mill Valley, CA 94941. Include:

  • Your name, address and phone number
  • The subtype of sarcoma
  • The name of the healthcare provider, his or her specialty, and where he or she works
  • The year(s) of care

Give specific examples of their care. Qualities that you may want to consider include:

  • Does the individual have up-to-date knowledge and expertise in sarcoma?
  • Does the individual communicate and listen well?
  • Does the individual show compassion, kindness and respect?
  • Does this individual spend sufficient time with the patient or loved ones?
  • If a problem arises, does this individual ensure needs are met?

Excerpts of nominating letters will be published on this website so that new patients and health-care providers can see what we value.

Previous winners

2015 Winners
  • Dr. Stephen Sener, professor of Surgery at the Keck School of Medicine of USC and Chief of Surgical Oncology at the USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center and Hospital – nominated by Maria.
  • Dr Barry Feig, Chief, Surgical Sarcoma Section at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center – nominated by David.
  • Dr. Janice Mehnert, Medical Oncologist and Director of Phase I and Developmental Therapeutics Program at Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey – nominated by Douglas.
  • The sarcoma team at Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Florida made up of: Dr. Peter Murray, Orthopedic Surgeon and professor of Orthopedics, Dr. Courtney Sherman, Orthopedic Surgeon and assistant professor of Orthopedics, Dr. Larry Daugherty, Radiation Oncologist and assistant professor of Radiation Oncology, Dr. Galen Perdikis, Chair of Plastic Surgery and professor of Plastic Surgery, and Dr. Steven Attia, Medical Oncologist and assistant professor of Oncology – nominated by Paige.
2014 Winners
  • Dr. Robert E. Goldsby, a pediatric cancer specialist at UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital and director of the Survivors of Childhood Cancer Program. Nominated by Mary Ann Vaughn.
  • Nurse Jill Hyson, an in-patient chemotherapy care coordinator at Wake Forest Baptist Health’s Comprehensive Cancer Care Center. Nominated by Ashley Shew Heflin.

Read more about the 2014 winners.

2013 Winners
  • Mark Douglas Duncan, MD, associate professor of surgery and oncology, vice chair of the department of surgery, and chief of surgical oncology at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center in Baltimore. Nominated by Rhonda Shackleford Ulmer.
  • Douglas Letson, MD, executive vice president of clinical affairs, physician-in-chief, and chair of education and the sarcoma department at Moffitt Cancer Center in Tampa. At the University of South Florida, he is a professor of surgery, radiology and orthopedics and director of the orthopedic residency program. Nominated by Heidi Kaldenberg.

Read more about the 2013 winners.

2012 Winners
  • Jonathan Trent, MD, PhD, co-director of the Musculoskeletal Center and director of the Sarcoma Medical Research Program at Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center at the University of Miami. Nominated by Kenneth S. Saladin.
  • Gina D’Amato, MD, a sarcoma medical oncologist at Georgia Cancer Specialists in Atlanta. Nominated by Suzie Siegel.
  • Peter Anderson, MD, PhD, a pediatric oncologist at M.D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston. Nominated by Karen Lee.

Read our news release about the 2012 winners.