Outstanding Care Awards

Have you or a loved one received outstanding care from a doctor, nurse, social worker or other health-care provider? The Sarcoma Alliance would like to honor them with its Outstanding Care Award.

Please submit nominating letters to info@sarcomaalliance.org or Sarcoma Alliance, 775 E. Blithedale Ave. #334, Mill Valley, CA  94941. Include:

  • Your name, address and phone number
  • The subtype of sarcoma
  • The name of the health-care provider, his or her specialty, and where he or she works
  • The year(s) of care

Give specific examples of their care. Qualities that you may want to consider are:

  • Do they have up-to-date knowledge and expertise in sarcoma?
  • Can they communicate well?
  • Do they listen well?
  • Do they show compassion, kindness and respect?
  • Do they spend sufficient time with the patient or loved ones?
  • If a problem arises, can they take charge to ensure needs are met?

Excerpts of nominating letters will be published on this website so that new patients and health-care providers can see what we value.

Click here to read our news release about the 2012 winners:
– Jonathan Trent, MD, PhD, co-director of the Musculoskeletal Center and director of the Sarcoma Medical Research Program at Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center at the University of Miami. Nominated by Kenneth S. Saladin.
– Gina D’Amato, MD, a sarcoma medical oncologist at Georgia Cancer Specialists in Atlanta. Nominated by Suzie Siegel.
– Peter Anderson, MD, PhD, a pediatric oncologist at M.D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston. Nominated by Karen Lee.

Click here for our story on the 2013 winners:
– Mark Douglas Duncan, MD, associate professor of surgery and oncology, vice chair of the department of surgery, and chief of surgical oncology at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center in Baltimore. Nominated by Rhonda Shackleford Ulmer.
– Douglas Letson, MD, executive vice president of clinical affairs, physician-in-chief, and chair of education and the sarcoma department at Moffitt Cancer Center in Tampa. At the University of South Florida, he is a professor of surgery, radiology and orthopedics and director of the orthopedic residency program. Nominated by Heidi Kaldenberg.

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2014 awards. To be considered, nominations must be submitted by Thursday July 31.